top of page
Writer's picturelisaannettestanley

Treating PEOPLE as We Would Like to be Treated. No Tricks. Happy Halloween.


I was honored to receive an email invitation to participate in an online-training webinar encouraging PEOPLE to have “Daring Discussions” with individuals in our circle of influence with political differences. As a Sociology Major with a degree in Journalism, I thought Perfect! Communications. Right up my alley. I had already published my book & started my business on the subject of Emotional Intelligence: Treating People as we would like to be treated.

While the event was presented with sensitive compassion, I quickly discovered the entire angle was wrong, combating racism with racism.

Very sadly, the topic of conversation was “How to have Daring Discussions with your White Supremacist Relatives.” It called for “Women of Color” to take the lead because the silence of white women who may be sympathetic to the cause “were enabling their racist relatives’ bigotry.”

The word “bigotry” is not racism in & of itself. It is prejudice based on any recognizable difference.including ideology & religion.

I was crest-fallen.

Do I need to walk around being ashamed of being a white English-Speaking Woman???

It sounded very much like prejudice towards me. Bigotry towards me. Racism towards me.

Then I wondered to myself, how many PEOPLE OF COLOR voted for Hillary Clinton & if not, WHY???

Could MISOGYNY be considered prejudice???

Could MISOGYNY be considered bigotry???

In preparing this piece, I stumbled on the FACT that the United States of America does NOT have an official language. Could this be part of the problem???

If I were to move to another country, say France, I would be expected to learn French.

My research lead me to find this:

H.R.997 - English Language Unity Act of 2017

To declare English as the official language of the United States, to establish a uniform English language rule for naturalization, and to avoid misconstructions of the English language texts of the laws of the United States, pursuant to Congress’ powers to provide for the general welfare of the United States and to establish a uniform rule of naturalization under article I, section 8, of the Constitution.

The Spanish word for “you” is “Su.”

Could this be why PEOPLE have gotten so “lawsuit CRAZY” that people cannot get along?

I think so.

I voted for Hillary Clinton. I am for DACA. I Stand for the Dreamers. I don’t believe in deportation or border walls.

But I do believe we need a Constitutional Amendment formally recognizing English as the Official Language of America.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page