top of page
  • Writer's picturelisaannettestanley

For the People Act. HR1 & the Equal Rights Amendment



The fourth month of this year has yet again been a rollercoaster of good news & bad news. There are a couple things on my "Legislative Wish List" that I would like to see happen this year:


When I wrote my 2017 book, "Yes, I'd Like to Thank the Academy: How to Tame the Red Carpet in YOUR Office," it was born of the fact that as a Health Insurance Agent of 14 years now, Insurance Agents like myself are held to a higher ETHICAL STANDARD than our Elected Officials.


The minimum acceptable standard should be HONESTY.


The For the People Act addresses this plus Fair Voting Rights & more.


Essentially a complete & total Ethics Reform at all levels of Government.


I believe we also should have Ethics Reform in the Broadcast Industry like I have been talking about for the past three years with the Fairness Doctrine.


Ethics is about doing the right thing 100% of the time - even when no one is looking.


It is just that easy - or should be.


The other item on my Legislative Wish List for this year is the Ratification of the Equal Rights Amendment.


This is so important for any number of reasons, not least of all how Women & girls are viewed in Society.


With the current Administration giving the first State of the Union address tomorrow on 4/28, hopefully there will be mention of the Ratification of the 28th Amendment.


While I have been a Registered Democrat for a very long time, I haven't donated to get my updated card yet as I kind of like this one.


That, plus the fact that I am still very upset that we couldn't elect a WOMAN to the highest office in our land.


Does giving the State of the Union on 4/28 make some kind of statement?


Or maybe he does intend to address the Ratification of the Equal Rights Amendment.


I guess we will find out tomorrow if he mentions it at all.


Hopefully so.



$7 Digital Download


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page